2 Broke Laugh Tracks


thanks to the tiedyednotebook.com for allowing me to mirror my latest Watch With Mai post!

You 2 Girls only get ONE. Choose wisely…

I know I am with most folks who complained ad nauseum about the
laugh track on 2 Broke Girls. But, on another site today, a comment from a
person who was…let’s just say not
a fan of 2 Broke Girls commented that they didn’t mind it. After all, there is
a laugh track on The Big Bang Theory and that doesn’t seem intrusive because
(and I am just imagining the snarky tone) Big Bang is actually funny. So, that
got me to thinking. Being a huge fan of Sheldon and the Shel-bots, I had to admit
to myself that I really don’t mind the laugh track on the Big Bang Theory
either. In fact, we might as well acknowledge that CBS ain’t gonna ever let
that go….a pretty sizeable chunk of their demographic would be lost without
it. How I Met Your Mother, Two and a Half Men, they all have it. I think Two
and a Half Men has a live audience, but How I Met Your Mother isn’t.

But I do find the laugh track obtrusive on 2 Broke Girls. So, why
this show and not the others? I think the reason comes down to my real
complaint with the show…the supporting cast of characters. First of all,
there are three (or four, if you count Max’s other boss, the Manhattan
Socialite with twins named Brad and Angelina) and each is separate from the
others, despite a common setting (the diner). They trot each one out in turn to
interact with one of the leads and then they go back into the background. There
is Oleg, the Russian short order cook. He is the one I would be happiest to see
go. He has one ‘joke’ and it’s not funny. Like, at all. There is Earl, the
cashier. He is the most ‘blah.’ I don’t much care if he’s there or not. Han,
the diner owner, is the one I like the best, even though he is portrayed as the
most William Hung stereotype of Asian ever. He is at least cute and a little
endearing. These characters are more caricatures and their “jokes”
fall so flat that the laugh track that accompanies them really feels jarring by
comparison.

By contrast, while The Big Bang centers around Sheldon, Leonard
and Penny, the supporting cast has always fit in seamlessly, while adding
layers and dimension to the show. If you’re a fan of The Big Bang, you know
that each of these supporting characters has come into their own in a way that
shines. Howard and his mother, Raj and his parents and sister…the addition of
Bernadette and Amy Farrah-Fowler have rounded out this cast so that it’s clear
that The Big Bang has a lot of depth on the bench. And that doesn’t even taken
into account the great recurring characters like Kripke (with the speech
impediment where he cannot pronounce ‘R’s’), Stewart, the comic book store
owner and Wil Wheaton who is always good for a couple of episodes per season.

2 Broke Girls really needs to get some depth of their own otherwise
the two leads, Caroline and Max, will quickly run out of steam. I feel like
they should pick one of the existing three and move on. If I were to judge by
last’s night’s episode, it seems that the powers that be are kind of coming to
the same conclusion. While the A plot revolved around the Girls and their latest
money making attempt (throwing a 90’s theme party), the B plot revolved around
Han and his attempt to hook up with a willing girl. It was fairly predictable
and one-dimensional, but Matthew Moy is kind of adorable and he made it work.

Also? They totally need to bring Brad and Angelina’s mom back. She
was vapid, but funny in her self absorption.

For more of my “fabulous” insights on your favorite shows, check out my blog www.watchwithmai.com

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiedyedguest
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 23:43:43

    Funny Mai! I have a very strict ruling against laugh tracks. I am most irritated at how they ruin British shows, which are my favorite. It’s something about the rhythm of them. Talk-2-3-4-Laugh. Talk-2-3-4-Laugh. After a few, I’m anticipating the next laugh and not the words at all. It’s like bad meditation.

    Reply

    • tiedyedguest
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 23:44:35

      I meant to sign the last comment. Laura Siegel here.

      Reply

    • mandalaymai
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 01:02:27

      I totally know what you mean, but I guess I am used to it as part of the BBC live experience. I will say I love Jeeves and Wooster which has NO laugh track. But I think the 1, 2, 3, laugh thing you talked about is when the jokes really AREN’T funny. If they were, the laughter would be more immediate. Do you watch the IT Crowd? It’s one of my new favorites.

      Reply

  2. tiedyedguest
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 01:16:02

    Hi Mai,
    I’m in the dark ages and don’t watch the BBC channel. Just PBS. I don’t believe they’ve gotten the IT Crowd yet, have they? Laura

    Reply

  3. mandalaymai
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 02:11:58

    I don’t think so. I watch it on Netflix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

