My Mother and the Hooker


In order for the story I’m about to tell to make sense, I have to first tell you a little about my mother. Think a very intelligent Edith Bunker. While my mom is seriously one of the most intelligent people I know, when it comes to ways of the world, she’s a little naive. It’s always been fun to introduce her to things that she’s never done before. Like the family vacation where we taught her the proper way to shoot tequila. She generally has that “a-ha” moment when it all makes sense, but sometimes it takes a minute to get there. You see, in her world everyone is shiny and happy and we all live a pretty vanilla existence. It’s not that she doesn’t think this unseemly side of the world isn’t out there, she just doesn’t have opportunity to interact with it much. So recently she and my stepdad took a trip to New Orleans. I did my best to prepare her for all that would happen there. I cautioned her not to try and take down a whole Hurricane by herself, etc. I didn’t, however, warn her from talking to strangers. You see, with my mom that’s just not going to happen. She’s going to talk to everyone she meets and will have their whole life story in the course of a half hour. Seriously, the CIA should hire her to get background information on people. She talks to everyone and she’s so likable that people talk to her too! So on this trip, they had to go to a drugstore. My mom was the one tasked with going into the store while the people they were vacationing with waited in the car. When she came out she remarked that the car was gone which prompted this scantily dressed, heavily tattooed woman to make a comment to her regarding the missing automobile. This then led to my mom asking the woman how long she had lived in New Orleans, which led to the woman disclosing that she had lost her job and that she now was a hooker and this was her corner, as if my 5’1″ mother in her glasses and mom jeans was there to move in on her turf. About this time the car pulled up and my mother was so flustered that she nearly walked into the car. It’s very reminiscent to me of the episode of “All in the Family” where Edith and Archie contacted a pair of swingers in an effort to broaden their social circle. If this had happened in Macon my mother might have possibly invited the woman out to lunch and assisted her in getting an invite to the Junior League! It’s just the kind of person she is. She will always see the good in people until she has a reason not to. She’d rather just believe that everyone is out for the betterment of themselves and the world around them than spend time thinking of all the bad things that people may be thinking and acting on. This is what I learned from her. To always see the good in other people until you have a reason not to. My grandmother was the type who felt that doing her part for civil rights was eating lunch with her housekeeper on the porch, but my mom didn’t raise us to feel that way. I learned not to judge people for what they look like or what they might choose to do with their lives. I judge people on their character, not who they love or how they dress. I have been lucky to meet people from all walks of life and do my best to get to know the person for who they really are. It’s this philosophy that has enabled me to meet some of the coolest people I know. I credit my mom with teaching me this lesson.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. anne
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 19:13:58

    I can totally picture your mom having that interchange! And yes, she is a really wonderful woman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

